These are a few of my favorite things

Hello fair readers!

Yes, I know. I *know* my postings have become less frequent.  So first on the list of my new favorite things is:

Twitter!

So since I’m one of the last people on the twitter train, I’ll be brief.  It’s like a mini-blog.  It rocks all socks.  You should probably get one.  Here’s me: http://twitter.com/leahlibrarian

Second on the list of my favorite things today: good library websites.

This isn’t a new topic for me.  I’m consistently baffled by libraries’ refusal to understand that a website is commonly the public’s first impression of a library.  Maybe not in all cases, but for the most part.  When I hear about a library, what do I do?

Even Marge does it

That’s right.  Like the rest of the world, I Google it.

So when I stumbled upon Kalamazoo Public Library’s new website, I was so pleased.

http://www.kpl.gov/

It rocks all socks, kind of like twitter does.

It fits my list of things-that-make-a-website-awesome criteria:

It’s pretty.

It’s functional.

It’s personal.

It’s progressive.

Seriously, check it out. Play around with it.  One of my favorites bits is the reading recommendations blog.  So cool.  And I would love to hear what the librarians at KPL think! (ahem, Caitlin, ahem 😉 )

So three cheers for Kalamazoo Public Library and their rockin’ new site!!  I think many libraries could use their set up as a template for a really impressive web presence.

Well, I’m off to Pitchfork Music Festival for the weekend!

See you on twitter! And have a lovely Saturday.

4 responses to “These are a few of my favorite things

  1. Yeah, even though I really liked KPL’s website before, I love the changes they’ve made, too. Everything is very clean and accessible!

    See you on Twitter!

  2. Hey, thanks for the great comments. We’re really happy with the way the site turned out too! We couldn’t have done it without the help of the team at Insite Web Publishing (http://www.iwpi.com/) … They brought a ton of knowledge to the table about how best to present our information in a way that’s, as you say, pretty and functional. And a lot of our staff really enjoy the recommendations as much as our web visitors do. I’d love to see more libraries pick up on that sort of thing.

  3. Leah,
    How great to see your site and to know you’re keeping an eye on KPL and our progress! We’re very pleased with the new website and all of its attributes….many of which you have identified. I hope your studies and career are going well. I still maintain someday I’ll be saying….”I knew her when…..” My best to you,
    Mary

  4. Thanks Mary & Stewart! It’s great to hear that the librarians at KPL like the site as much as I do! It’s always a little disappointing when you talk about how cool a change is but then you find out that the people involved are miserable about it! 😛 I hoped and prayed this wouldn’t be the case at KPL. I miss that library! It’s an amazing place to work.

    And Mary! You are awesome. I pointed your picture out to one of my fellow Reference Librarians and said “She’s one of the reasons I became a librarian!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

