Good news for people who like good news.

Hello fair readers!

In case I haven’t blurted out and told you already, I wanted to share some pleasant news that I have been learning how to deal with the past few days.

….

……

I FOUND A JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I know! It’s so exciting you all just jumped up and shouted “Finally!”.

Me too.

I accepted a Reference/Adult Services position at Calumet City Public Library, a small South suburban library.  I’ll be one of three Adult Services librarians and I will also be in charge of Fiction collection development, some community outreach, and Teen Programming.  I am super, uber freaking excited.  I have some really fun ideas, like potentially creating some kind of fiction collection development blog…pending approval of course.  So we’ll see.

But can someone please explain to me why….after years of being an adamant Fiction reader and now being put in charge of an entire Fiction collection…why oh why is every book that I want to read right now Nonfiction?!?!

Like this and this?!

I know it sounds silly but I want my first post-graduate book to be special.  Something that I will look back and remember that it was the first book I read after being in school for 19 FREAKING YEARS!

We’ll see.

Have a lovely Wednesday.  I’m graduating on Saturday so you better believe there will be a photo blog coming up.  Oh yeah, I know you’re excited.

4 responses to “Good news for people who like good news.

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Sounds like a great fit for you! I can only read nonfiction right now too cause there is SO much good stuff! I’m reading The Omnivore’s Dilemma (also by Michael Pollan) right now and it is excellent! I’m away for the weekend, so won’t be walking in graduation, but have fun!

  2. Thank you so much Sarah! Hopefully I’ll see you around!

  3. congrats!

    try CALUMET CITY by charlie newton

  4. Thanks Ed! I actually read Waiting for Godot. It was a quick little read. Now i’m onto Tree of Smoke, which is amazing.

Leave a Reply

