A good compilation tape is a very subtle art.

The mixed tape. I used to spend hours upon hours making mixed tapes.

See that? That is me, aged somewhere between 16-18, making one of probably hundreds of mixed tapes on my parent’s stereo.

Mixing songs into a specific order for someone is a special thing. It takes time and patience. Dedication for not just whoever the mix is for but also to the music. And everyone has a different tactic for it. I know many people who strongly believe that mixes for others should contain music that they might not know about yet.

Me…I choose to make things from the heart. Some songs, or even all, will probably be known to the listener. But just to know that I think of that song and them….that is the message. It’s like a letter or a card. But in music.

So when I came across The Shifted Librarian’s blog about Muxtape, I was just really pleased. While not as personal, time consuming or really as heartfelt as a mixed tape/CD, this new website rocks socks.

Seriously…you should play around with it. You just upload songs, organize them, and then play them. So, fair readers, here is my Spring Mix to you.

Enjoy.

http://yolaleah.muxtape.com/

7 responses to “A good compilation tape is a very subtle art.

  1. I added another fun link to that post – Mixwit, which even makes the list *look like* a cassette šŸ™‚

    Will listen to your mix this weekend!

  2. I love that pic of you. You look so annoyed at mom (or dad…or me) for taking it.

  3. I know. Kind of typical right? šŸ˜›

  4. My Dad took a ton of pictures of us when we were growing up (sadly, they’re mostly slides that still need to be converted), and I had a look like that one – the “not *another* picture, Dad” look.

    Then the tables turned, though. When I was a step-parent, I got that same look back from my kids, so I guess everything comes around full circle. :-p

  5. Oh trust me, once my sister (Colleen) and her husband start having kids I will totally be the annoying Aunt with a camera. Fun!! Hopefully by that point I will have a nicer digital than I’m using right now. šŸ˜›

  6. heather0spicy

    …. ( of course i can’t reallysay your more odd than me) (just kidding) kool blog!!!

  7. I’m so sad that the muxtape website is now gone!! šŸ˜¦ šŸ˜¦ Anybody know of something similar so I can remix a tape for my fair readers?

Leave a Reply

