Now I’m hungry

Hello fair readers!

While listening to NPR this morning, a show came on that I find rather amusing. It’s called Sound Opinions. This is basically a show where two music geeks talk about…well…music.

duh

And today they had Anthony Bourdain on the show

to talk about the connections between food and music. It was a great show, which I highly recommend you check out, but they listed off some of their favorite songs about food. I found this inspiring.

They listed off some of the following:

I want Candy – Bow Wow Wow

Tupelo Honey – Van Morrison

and Cinnamon Girl – Neil Young

While listening to this I became inspired and thought I would share with you….aren’t you lucky….some of my own very favorite songs about food.

My first thought immediatly went to Yo La Tengo…because they are gods…but also because when I saw them live

which was awesome beyond belief, they told the hot chicken story, which basically revolves are a little place in Nashville called Prince’s Hot Chicken Shack, where they apparently have the hottest chicken Yo La Tengo hates to love. They claimed that you have to eat the chicken because it’s so delicious but it’s so damn hot, that you get sick for days. So yes, my first song about food that I love is:

Return to Hot Chicken – Yo La Tengo

Then my mind went straight to Cibo Matto

because they have tons of fantastic songs about food…which also makes it hard to choose just one. šŸ˜¦ Life is so unfair. So I went with

Sugar Water – Cibo Matto

for several reasons. One: used in a Buffy episode. And two: the video rocks socks.

Directed by Michel Gondry

And finally I thought about Feist

mainly because one of my, hands down, favorite songs from 2007 is the gorgeous

Brandy Alexander – Feist

So those are mine. There are so many and these are just a few of my favorites. But I’m interested to see what others think.

Do you have a favorite song about food?

Have a lovely weekend fair readers.

5 responses to “Now I’m hungry

  1. Well, I know what Jen would say, “Cheeseburger in Paradise.”

    My personal favorite as of late is that one that goes “Peanut butter jelly, peanut butter jelly, peanut butter jelly with a baseball bat – It’s peanut butter jelly time!” Mmm rapping using pb as a metaphor.

  2. ha! She totally would say that. You are completely right. Now…what is this pb song?

  3. I’m too sick to actually think of any food songs, but I love the chicken Yo La Tengo reference. I was so excited when you moved on to Cibo Matto – I thought you might continue the chicken theme with their “Know Your Chicken”! Good stuff, I tell you.

    Ooh, speaking of which, Ween’s “Buenas Tardes, Amigo”:
    I looked at every fiesta
    For you I wanted to greet
    Maybe I’d sell you a chicken
    Wist [sic] poison interlaced wist the meat

  4. Whee! I just saw you even have Ween in your playlist. We are two chickens of a feather, miss Leah! You rock!

  5. ha! And that’s even from the same album! I guess great minds think alike. šŸ˜‰ Hope you feel better Sara!

Leave a Reply

