Trials and Tribulations

Hello fair readers!

As I have mentioned before, I am in the process of looking for, what I like to call, my job job. In other words, my post-graduate position, my career, etc.

I had been warned before the process that it is trying. Hard on self-confidence. After about month I can say that yes, that is so very true.

Although this phrase is a bit hackneyed, looking for jobs is truly like taking on another job. It’s become a bit of a process for me and I figure I could share my process. It certainly is not a secret. All my resources are free and almost exclusively online. Because that’s just how I roll. 😉

My first step is to check out my websites. I have a few that I religiously check everyday and some that I frequent when I have a bit more time to devote to searching. But my main sites are the following:

ALA JobLIST

MLS Careers

AALL Job Placement

CALL jobs

ARL Careers

Of course, the most major player in these sites, and also the one I probably devote the most time searching, is the ALA JobLIST. First off…..thank you ALA. omg. Seriously. This resource is amazing, well organized, easy to search. Obviously created by librarians. 🙂

Also a lot of the sites I look at are pretty specialized. Law library sites, Chicago specific. So these won’t be helpful to everyone. However they really work for what I’m interested in. So there.

My next step is an obvious one. Find an interesting job ad. For example, this one:

Access Services Librarian

I think to myself. “Ohh Colorado”.

“Pretty”

Yes. That is what went through my mind when I saw this ad. No lie.

Geography is very important to me. The job is important as well. But there are certain areas that I think I’m more suited to. So then I take the town and I google map it. I like to get a sense of where, for example, Durango Colorado is located because I know that not all of Colorado looks like the picture above. Some of it looks like this:

No thank you. Not for me. Maybe for some people….not for Leah. Nope.

After checking out the map, I go to Wikipedia, another one of my favorite first stops when researching towns. Now don’t freak out librarians.

I know this isn’t authoritative. But there is no way to deny the handiness of Wikipedia. A nice first step in researching cities.

Now some of you may be thinking…why are you not looking at the websites of the libraries or the schools? What is wrong with you?

Well that is my next step. If the town is acceptable, I go on to check out the website of the library. Because I’ll tell you what…if you’re website looks shabby, I’m closing that window and not returning.

I can vow this: I will not apply to a library that has an awful web presence.

And instead of publicly embarrassing some libraries and talking about how awful their sites are, which is possible…oh yes, I will show you what I love to see. A good example is the Yale University Library. It looks professional. Well organized. Obvious links to IM reference, study guides, etc. You get the idea.

Now if all these things are in line: the city/town, the site, the job description…I apply.

And that is just one ad, from one site.

When I really have time, I hit up this one:

Library Job Postings on the Internet

I can spend literally hours upon hours, filing through the sites all congregated on this awesome resource. And before I realize it, my entire day is gone. Dedicated to a job search.

On good days, I get in applications to one or two jobs. On bad ones I end up wanting to throw my laptop across the room…but then think better of it because I freakin’ love my laptop!!

How I love thee Osaka, let me count the ways….

But overall, I just try to tell myself…it will all work out.

It will all work out.

Because it has to.

Right?

Happy Wednesday fair readers. And to anyone else job searching, may the force be with you.

One response to “Trials and Tribulations

  1. Pingback: Trials and Tribulations | Online Services

Leave a Reply

