The Big L

Hello fair readers!

As I enter my 25th year, I am about to move into a new era of my life.

Ah yes. The job market. Here I come!

In all seriousness, I am about to enter my final semester of Library School.

[quiet celebration]

There is a certain sadness to that, also a wee bit of fear, but the closer I come…the more I feel like I’m ready. Ready to make the move from librarian to Librarian (with a capital L, see that? there is a difference).

librarian: one who works in libraries, answers questions, does circulation duties, bachelor’s degree in English (or some other pointless Bachelors like Fine Arts or Creative Writing)

Librarian: amazing, wonderful genius who has completed their Master’s and also understands the how to answer the ultimate question…

That’s right. Watch out for the big L. They have big brains.

So that is my path, where it leads. To infinite answer finding. And now I just have to find that right position. A place where I can be happy and decently paid. That will understand my odd sense of humour and hopefully laugh with me, not at me. And on top of it all, I hope to find a position that accepts my oddly phrased cover letters.

“I excel at finding dynamic solutions to issues in the complex and evolving world of legal research”

Come on. Doesn’t that sound awesome? Don’t lie.

So I guess I’m throwing myself at the mercy of hiring managers around the greater Chicago area, hoping they find my background interesting and my ideas perceptive.

I think I am. I do. And I suppose that is the most important thing.

So here I come Library world. Enter Leah, into the world of job applicants.

Watch out. šŸ™‚

Have a lovely Tuesday everyone. I’ll be writing Cover Letters.

2 responses to “The Big L

  1. Really makes you think, doesn’t it?

  2. Holy crap, I can’t believe you’re almost done with school! Man, do I ever wish I were.

    Are you going to be looking for jobs in Chicago, or are you willing to move?

Leave a Reply

