Ode to Wes Anderson

Hello fair readers!

Last night I went to go see The Darjeeling Limited

and it was everything I had hoped it would be.

It made me think about Wes Anderson and how much happiness his movies have brought me over the years.

I will never forget the first time I watched one of his films. Rushmore. As soon as the credits rolled, I stopped the movie, rewound, and watched the movie all over again. This is still the only film I have ever done that with.

There are certain traits to a Wes Anderson film that make me love them so incredibly much. The first, and arguably one of the most important, is the soundtrack. Wes Anderson knows how to soundtrack a movie. It’s perfection. In fact, it is scenes like this

and this

that might be the whole reason why I fell in love with his films in the first place. Those slow motion scenes…perfect for whichever song he chooses…emotional and sad. Makes you think about the times in your life when things do seem to be slowing down. Never ending.

Never has slowmotion been so perfect.

And then there are those lines that he writes. The lines that manage to be just as sad as they are humorous. You cannot help but giggle and also realize how heartbreaking the whole moment is.

I once read somewhere that he actually makes movies with specific actors in mind. Like The Royal Tenenbaums was specifically written for Gene Hackman to play the character of Royal.

Of course, I do not know if this is really true. But I like to think that it is.

SO I guess what I’m trying to say here is that Wes Anderson is brilliant in so many ways. But most important is the way he makes his movies. And I thank him for that.

Have a lovely weekend fair readers. I suggest seeing The Darjeeling Limited. You will enjoy it.

4 responses to “Ode to Wes Anderson

  1. Going to see it this afternoon. I’ve been looking forward to it for weeks.

  2. Hello your post is funny.
    I like your blog..
    Thank you

  3. I am also a huge Wes Anderson fan and couldn’t agree more about his brilliant use of music.

    Like your blog (and not just because you posted a photo of my library 🙂 Consider me subscribed!

  4. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

