Coping Strategies

Hello fair readers!

As November is upon us, I am beginning to turn my thoughts to winter. As many of you know, Chicago is right on the edge of the Central time zone. What does this mean you might ask?

It means Chicago goes from day to night at around….4pm.

And truly, Chicago in the winter, in the dark is beauty.

But this doesn’t take from the fact that the majority of our days for the next fews months will be spent in darkness.

So I have been thinking long and hard about how I will get through this winter. Since last winter, my first Chicago winter, I simply hid in my house playing MMORPGs. In small doses this would have been fine. But I think anyone who has played Lineage 2 can tell you that a “small dose” is very difficult to manage and one usually ends up online for anywhere from 4-12 hours a day.

Not healthy?

I think so.

So this winter I am determined to find better coping strategies. Does this mean I’m ruling video games out as an option?

Absolutely not.

Just less addictive video games. And ones that don’t involve needing to spend many hours a day grinding. (ugh. any online gamer will know and hate that term)

Besides some simple gaming, here are the tools that will help me get through the winter.

Crochet

That, dear readers, is my winter project. It will eventually become a blanket. As previously blogged, I had been knitting. However I’ve switched over to crochet for this project. Maybe it’s because I find the act of switching colors simpler with crochet? I’m not sure. But the decision has been made. And my project is underway.

A Sewing Machine

Honestly…I have absolutely no idea what I’m going to do with this. But now I have it. It’s a very viable option for winter entertainment. Right?

Finally I’m going to pursue this whole cooking thing.

Last New Year’s I made several resolutions. One of them was to cook more. Finally I’m actually doing this. But now I’m no longer eating meat. So cooking had become quite interesting. Adventures recently include Egg Salad, Southwestern Bean Soup, and cupcakes

which is baking…I know!….but I’m working on it. šŸ˜‰

Anyways, if anyone has any other suggestions for getting through the long winter months I would love to hear them. As much as I adore the winter season

in all it’s splendor and beauty

I also like to keep my sanity.

Enjoy the dying days of Autumn, fair readers. I know I will.

3 responses to “Coping Strategies

  1. One of my favorite things in the winter is swimming in a pool. Maybe your college has a pool? I also love to go to places like Garfield Conservatory on really cold sunny days.

  2. How about if I come show you some tips on using that new sewing machine?

  3. Thanks Pop but Dominican is a tiny tiny school minus a pool. šŸ˜¦ Bummer

Leave a Reply

