Love. Lovely love.

On August 4th, 2007 my sister, Colleen, was married.

It was amazing. And stressful. I freaked out the entire morning for a myriad of reasons. But all these things ended up working themselves out. Someone was watching out for me.

Issue #1: as one of my previous posts mentions, my dress was in trouble. Being strapless, it wouldn’t stay up alone, which required some Leah-made alterations.

Resolution:

Enter my mother to save the day. She whipped up some safety pin magic, along with all the other insane things she had to deal with that day. She is truly amazing.

Seriously.

In fact, both my parents were pretty amazing.

I was impressed. šŸ™‚

Issue #2: I was worried about crying through the whole ceremony because my only sister was getting married.

Resolution: I cried through the whole ceremony. No kidding. Ask anyone who was there. Here is me trying my best not to shudder and start sobbing….

Not sure if you can tell. But I was freaking out.

Issue #3: the speech. Oh me. Oh my. THE SPEECH! I had anxiety dreams about doing my maid of honor speech for about a month straight. It’s not like I haven’t done any public speaking. I have to do it quite a bit to be honest. But good god, I was freaking out….again.

Resolution: It went just fine. As soon as I got the microphone, I just kind of knew what I wanted to say from the hours of thinking and revising in my head. I made people laugh and didn’t cry.

Mission accomplished.

After this, everything was completely fun. The reception was in a barn at the Kalamazoo Nature Center, which was so beautiful.

We danced

and drank

and were very very merry.

So overall, it was wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Which is a word that, according to Stefan, I used many times that weekend.

Wonderful.

5 responses to “Love. Lovely love.

  1. Jen the Hermit

    Yea! I’m so glad things went well! My brother’s getting married next month, which is weird, and I’m glad I don’t have to do anything for it. I mean, I’ll probably help take down decorations after the ceremony, but I don’t have to be in the wedding party or anything crazy like that.

    And OF COURSE you cried for the whole thing! You’re Leah! šŸ™‚

  2. It looks like everything went great!!! As long as I passed my boards, I’ll be ok with not being there, but if I failed them, I should’ve been there drinking with you guys!!!

  3. hehe. Poor Johnny. I hope your boards went well too. You were missed.

  4. Great pictures Leah. What an incredible day and night. I had so much fun and was truely proud to be a part of it all. The White’s are a WONDERFUL family!!!

  5. CONGRATULATIONS to the family! You’ve got fantastic pictures of some of the most lovely memories. Love is Grand. Was the ceremony also at KNC?

Leave a Reply

