Good Parenting

I am sitting here thinking about one of my first musical memories. This was really the moment when I realized the time how much music could make me feel and how truly emotional listening to music can be. It was when my Mom played The Great Gig in the Sky by Pink Floyd for me. It was Christmas, a long time ago. My Dad had bought her the album on CD when we first bought a CD player (I was pretty young). She put the CD in and put it on this track. I remember feeling a little afraid of the song. The woman wailing…why was she so upset? But I also remember my complete awe. Understanding the relationship between the music and how I was being made to feel at that moment. I think its safe to say that was a pivital moment in my childhood, especially when it comes to my relationship with music now. Just one of those great and amazing memories that shapes us.

Thank you Mom for introducing me to the emotional side of music. And thank you Dad for re-buying her the album that introduced me to this concept. Now that’s what I call good parenting.

2 responses to “Good Parenting

  1. I think exposing children to music from an early age is vital. Sometimes the first thing Isobel will ask for in the morning (at 6 a.m. and before her bottle or my coffee) is music.

    “Music? Please?”

  2. Times have changed. I think the first record I remember hearing from my mother’s old record player was The Nutcracker by Tchaikovsky.

Leave a Reply

