Jelly babies and Mutant Genetics

Anyone who knows me understands I have a deep geeky love for sci-fi/fantasy television. Especially if it’s British

Red Dwarf is cooler than you.

but it certainly doesn’t have to be.

So recently I’ve been devouring some things off my netflix list that are definetly in the sci-fi/fantasy section.

Sidenote: Netflix is yet another topic I can totally geek out on. When I speak of it, I usually end of sounding like a big advert, so I’ll try to spare you. Let’s just say it is simply the only way to watch movies. And leave it at that.

Like I was saying, I’ve been super into a few series on my queue recently and I thought I would share. Because sharing is fun!

Yay!

First: Doctor Who season 1, 2005 version

Brilliant. Completely brilliant. And I can’t believe it has taken me so long to watch this. I’ve always been a very big fan of Doctor Who and if you don’t know who or what that is, then watch this:

There are many many Doctors and the series is one, and perhaps is the, longest running Science Fiction series. With multiple doctors, some for better

best doctor ever

and some for…well worse isn’t really a fair descriptor. Let’s just say, some for the not quite as good as the Tom Baker years

But the newer Doctors are definitely amazing. Do the job justice. Well done. Go rent it.

The second series I’m really super getting into is one I’m sure you have heard of.

Heroes.

It’s almost a little crazy how addicting this show is. It’s pretty melodramatic. Not always the best writing. But damn. Is it entertaining.

So entertaining, that I took it off my Netflix list, dragged my librarian butt to Best Buy, and bought myself my very own copy of Season 1. The quality reminds me highly of Buffy, in that occasionally it’s hokey and not always the best writing ever. But damn it is awesome, and when the writing is good, it’s amazing. And the characters. Those are what make things worth watching right?

So these are the two things that have me totally geeking out recently. Hiding in my house, watching robots and mutants and being content.

Happy Labor Day everyone.

6 responses to “Jelly babies and Mutant Genetics

  1. Yay! I’m glad you are into Dr. Who. I HEART Dr. Who. A lot. I’m putting Heroes in my q or heck just buying it. First though, Carnivale and a slew of samurai films!

    Hurrah for sci/fi geekery!!

  2. Which samurai films are you watching? Recently I’ve been trying to get more into Kung Fu…maybe Samurai can be my next genre obsession. :)

  3. Mom and I’ve been watching a series mix this week, (all season 1) Heroes, 30 Rock and It’s Always Sunny in Philadelphia. All of them very very entertaining. Also the new Doctor Who Season 2 is out on video and very worth while. I’ve always been a fan of SciFi, Fantasy and Comedy. Great Stuff!!

  4. I keep hearing about 30 rock. Is that on DVD? I think I need to get ahold of it.

  5. Incidentally, I am in love with Tom Baker…. I should probably be seeking professional help for that.

  6. That is debatable. Because Tom Baker is adorable. Except for that whole bad Brit teeth issue. But curly hair? Long multi-colored scarf? Robot dog that can talk?
    Yes please.

Leave a Reply

